Patient Reviews

At GastroArkansas, our patient-centered approach to medicine means that, above all, your health and well-being will always be our top concern. We are a physician-led network of providers that want nothing more than to help every member of your family reach their optimal gastrointestinal health so you can live each day with the greatest quality of life possible. When you visit our GI specialists in Little Rock, AR, you can rest assured that you are in good hands with professionals who are both knowledgeable and caring. To see real experiences from past and present patients who have been in your position, browse through the reviews below. Once you have finished reading through some of the reviews, reach out to us and let us know how we can help improve your GI health.

Reviews for Little Rock, AR Gastroenterologist David Backstedt, M.D.

5.0 Review from A.T. Source: Google May 25 2024

"Dr Backstedt was so wonderfully kind. His concern was for me and not about a hiccup with the insurance"

5.0 Review from F.G. Source: Google May 25 2024

"Dr. Backstedt’s office is great! Very helpful and professional. Dr. Backstedt is extremely thorough and precise. He is upfront and honest with his patients. I highly recommend."

5.0 Review from Y. Source: Google Mar 22 2024

"Doctor and staff were friendly, professional, and kind, making a potentially unpleasant experience pain-free and even pleasant. Prep wasn’t terrible and relatively easy."

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google Mar 20 2024

"You always take time to visit and ask questions."

5.0 Review from H.A. Source: Google Mar 06 2024

"Dr. Backsteadt is the best thing that happened to gastroenterology. He is very thorough with even small details and makes sure I ask all the questions I have in every visit. Getting in with him is a bit difficult; but if you can wait, his care is worth waiting."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Mar 01 2024

"Everyone was very friendly. Dr was knowledgeable and did his best to help me understand what was going on and help me get better."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Feb 28 2024

"Dr Backstedt takes enough time to explain the conditions and options thoroughly. Every time I see him I feel I’m his only patient; he is never rushed."

5.0 Review from B.A. Source: Google Feb 27 2024

"Unbelievable; a colonoscopy that was very easy and non traumatic. Dr Backstedt has a comforting demeanor. The nurses and anesthesiologist were also wonderful."

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Feb 23 2024

"Was well informed of the procedure. Staff was professional and showed proper concern for the patient."

5.0 Review from G.J. Source: Google Feb 09 2024

"Great doc, excellent communication"

5.0 Review from L.J. Source: Google Feb 01 2024

"Dr. Backstedt has a great doctor to patient manner. He is very attentive to the patient and wants results. He quickly moved to get the test needed to find the results. Thank you for your quick and helpful response. Thanks you for answering all my questions, regardless of how small they were."

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google Feb 01 2024

"Very thorough and informative physician!"

5.0 Review from P.G. Source: Google Jan 26 2024

"Best group ever. All employees are great at their jobs.always happy and respectful. You are in good hands there. I love my doctor he is so caring."

5.0 Review from B.P. Source: Google Jan 24 2024

"Better than any of the 4 gastro Drs I've seen. Still trying to find out what's wrong. So far been all pills and none work but he tries harder and actually lets you know about test results. Recommend this Dr over any I've seen. Don't recommend Premier Gastro"

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Dec 05 2023

"Thank you Dr Backstedt for continuing to do a awesome job. See you in 3 years unless something pops up. Judy Beard"

5.0 Review from N.V. Source: Google Nov 17 2023

"Dr. Backstedt spent the time to listen to my issues and gave great explanations as to why I was having the issues and what next steps would be."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"The staff was excellent. Very nice and friendly. They communicated very well and oh Dr. Backstedt was awesome! He was hands on, and communicated well about the procedure. I was not anxious at all."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"Good experience."

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"Everyone at GastroArkansas on Rodney Parham was so kind and professional. They took time to explain each step and any questions."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Nov 06 2023

"Amazing Doctor. He actually listens to you and discusses what is going on."

5.0 Review from F.D. Source: Google Nov 04 2023

"My experience was very positive. Everyone was kind and informative."

5.0 Review from C.E. Source: Google Nov 03 2023

"Dr Backstedt was very kind and has a great bedside manner. Everyone that took care of me the morning of my colonoscopy were great as well. Dr Backstedt came and spoke to my husband and I after the procedure. He was very informative and communicated clearly. Also, he asked if we had any questions, didn't make us feel rushed and unimportant. Thank you!! God bless"

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Nov 01 2023

"The nurses and staff were very friendly and pleasant to be around."

5.0 Review from W. Source: Google Oct 24 2023

"Everyone was kind an concerned about my well being"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Oct 13 2023

"I got in, got my consultation done, prep’d and had my colonoscopy within like a week. It was quick, well explained and easy. I’d suggest them. Dr Backstedt was incredibly clear worded and helpful."

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Oct 08 2023

"Nice office, friendly, professional staff."

5.0 Review from S.F. Source: Google Oct 01 2023

"He appears to be very knowledgeable and open. My problem is he is an hour and a half away from my home."

5.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Sep 27 2023

"Every person from receptionist to nurses, C Anesthesia and my Dr were outstanding!! Extremely considerate and comforting. I want ALL my future scopes done here!!! Couldn't have asked for any better!! Thank you all so very much."

5.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google Sep 21 2023

"The Dr was very nice and helpful so was the nurse glad I chose Gasto Ar and Dr Backstedt"

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google Sep 15 2023

"I received excellent care, and the doctor was very thorough and informative."

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Sep 14 2023

"Every person from receptionist to nurses, C Anesthesia and my Dr were outstanding!! Extremely considerate and comforting. I want ALL my future scopes done here!!! Couldn't have asked for any better!! Thank you all so very much."

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Sep 11 2023

"It was great"

5.0 Review from D.J. Source: Google Sep 02 2023

"Dr. Backstedt did an excellent job in my opinion, he was very thorough, he exemplified compassion, and he listened to what I had to say!"

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Sep 01 2023

"They were nice, caring, informative and professional. ."

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Aug 25 2023

"Very professional...friendly.. doctor very knowledgeable & helpful"

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google Jul 27 2023

"They were great!"

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google Jul 09 2023

"Everyone was very professional and engaging, Dr. Backstedt thoroughly explains the procedure beforehand and afterwards is very detailed in telling you the results in layman’s terms. Highly recommended Staff and DR."

5.0 Review from W.W. Source: Google Jul 07 2023

"Has great bedside manners"

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google Jun 03 2023

"I enjoyed my experience here and look forward to continued care with this clinic."

5.0 Review from D.I. Source: Google Jun 03 2023

"Attentive and thorough. This was my second encounter with Dr. Backstedt. He did my first colonoscopy without any complications and explained the findings to my understanding. He will be performing my next colonoscopy. I do recommend this Physician."

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Jun 03 2023

"This was my second visit with Dr. Backstedt. He listened to every single symptom. I never once felt as though he didn't take my concerns seriously. His office has been wonderful helping to schedule all of my tests as quickly as possible."

5.0 Review from D.Y. Source: Google May 04 2023

"My experience was pleasant from the time I checked in until Dr. Backstedt talked with me about results and what to expect next. I appreciate the timeliness of being seen at my scheduled appointment time. Thanks!"

5.0 Review from M.H. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Explained everything and not a problem afterwards very laid back. Highly recommend"

5.0 Review from B.C. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"He’s is a very great doctor highly recommend him!!!!!"

5.0 Review from E. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"The staff is very friendly. My wait time is always minimal and I am seen on time. A lab is on site if lab work is needed. The office is equipped to do many outpatient type procedures on site. Dr Backstedt is a great physician. He has a wonderful bedside manner. He follows up with me and several times has called me personally regarding my lab work, updates, etc. He is very thorough and listens to me. I have never felt like my appointment was rushed. I feel I am receiving the very best care. I would highly recommend Dr. Backstedt and his office to anyone who is looking for a great gastroenterology specialist."

5.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"To be honest ,I never met a doctor such as Dr.Backstedt ,who is so particular in explaining an issue in a very plain language..He is willing to spend as much time as needed to answer all questions..I have to ad one more aspect being he’s patient..Just recently had a colonoscopy and endoscopy at the same time and it was perfectly performed by dr.Backstedt and after those procedures he again spent at least 30-40 minutes in post surgery room..It’s so rare in today’s day and age.."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Jan 01 2023

"Excellent!!"

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"(Translated by Google) Excellent!! (Original) Excelente!!"

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Backstedt was very kind and informative"

4.0 Review from K.O. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Backstedt and the staff at Gastro Arkansas in Bryant are very thorough and keep your best interest in mind. I would highly recommend him!"

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"We talked about what was going on with me and my options. He shared the risks with each treatment. I would recommend Dr. B."

5.0 Review from T.R. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"My daughter (17) has had chronic nausea and vomiting on and off for three years. Dr. Backstedt is the second GI doctor she has seen. Dr. Backstedt has been phenomenal! My daughter finally has a diagnosis and is now on the road to managing it."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr David Backstedt is a top notch gastrointestinal doctor. He is detailed, organized, and listens to you. I appreciate so much the time he takes to ensure his patients get the best care available."

5.0 Review from T.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Backstedt is an amazing doctor. He goes above and beyond to make sure he covers all bases. He works along with all of your doctors to ensure that their all on the same page, in order to provide you with the best Healthcare experience. He has the best bed side manner which is very rare nowadays. If you want/need answers He will stop at nothing to get to the bottom of it...I even received calls on the weekend about his concerns."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Backstedt has helped me with IBS and is very knowledgeable and it’s very easy to discuss my concerns with him."

5.0 Review from C.K. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Beckstedt is great! Very compassionate, always explains things and takes time with me."

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Backstedt is very good. He thoroughly listens and cares for his patients. I would recommend him to anyone. I was nervous about getting a new Dr. and it was the best decision I ever made. Thank you for your hard work!"

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I received excellent care and the follow up by the office has been impressive."

5.0 Review from W.C. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr. Backstreet, is a caring DR. He always ask how aim doing is there any new system, if there is call him right away. very respectable toward me, I would recommend him to anyone. This is no bull, he's a good Dr."

5.0 Review from E.W. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"On my initial mtg Dr. Backstredt last yr, he had a very calming & attentive demeanor, he didn’t appear rushed and I think he “heard me”. My last appointment was Initially very late in the afternoon, but I received a call about mid morning to see if I could come in earlier which was convenient for me and I greatly appreciated being able to get in earlier. No long wait time."

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Informative doctor. He has taken good care of my stomach for a few years now. Very thorough."

5.0 Review from L.K. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Friendly and thorough."

4.0 Review from N.D. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr. Backstedt is very knowledgeable and seems very interested in his patients. The facilities are nice. The staff is friendly. The wait was short. My only critiques are appointment dates so far out. And maybe ask a few more questions about the patient. I felt a little rushed. Otherwise, it was a great visit."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Very kind, and will take his time to answer any questions or concerns."

5.0 Review from A.R. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I’ve had wonderful experiences with Dr.Backstedt, he is a wonderful doctor and is so understanding and knowledgeable. I recommend seeing him every-time! He is always so kind and makes you feel comfortable which is amazing! Highly recommend to anyone wanting to go to Gastro-Arkansas in Little Rock!"

5.0 Review from C.F. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"He answered all my questions."

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"A Doctor who knows his job and listen to the patient. 5 stars"

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Backstedt has been taking excellent care of me since since he confirmed my colon cancer in 2017. He is an excellent doctor who is also kind, caring and wonderfully down to earth. I wouldn't consider anyone else. Susan Maddox"

5.0 Review from L.O. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"You couldn't ask for a better gastrologist doctor"

4.0 Review from A.P. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"The office staff and nurses were very nice. The place is very clean and I didn't have a super long wait. Dr.Backstedt was nice, but he did speak very fast and I felt very rushed through my appointment. A few times I had to ask him to repeat himself because he was speaking so fast. Granted, it was a Friday afternoon, so I am sure he was ready for the weekend. But it would have been nice if he had slowed down and taken his time. He did seem very knowledgeable though!"

5.0 Review from B.V. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"The experience was as good as one can hope for. Friendly and very efficient."

5.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Dr Backstedt shows a sincere interest in his patient, following up personally and a call from his office."

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"After seeing another gastrointestinal doctor for over a year with no solution and no help, I saw Dr. Backstedt and not only did he listen, he was quick to order necessary tests and diagnose my problem. Dr. Backstedt has me on the necessary medication to help with my issues and I would highly recommend him to anyone who is suffering from stomach and intestinal issues!"

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very polite, professional, listened carefully. Found a precancerous lesion and was referred to a surgeon who was an excellent dr also. Very thankful I was referred to this office."

5.0 Review from P.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I highly recommend Dr.Backstedt for anyone having gastric problems. He is very thorough, very patient, and he listens to you and then advises and prescribes what you need, after a thorough exam. He will be my Gastroenterologist, that’s for sure and I thank my primary doctor for recommending him."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Backstreet,he gets a five star rating from me. He is the best around. Would recommend him to snyone"

5.0 Review from C.F. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I have enjoyed working with Dr. B and his staff to keep my Crohn’s disease under control. Getting lab work is easy and my requests of the staff are always addressed. Great clinic!"

5.0 Review from B.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Backstedt did a upper GI on me. My first time to meet him was In His Conway office. Very very polite and very professional. He did the procedure at Conway Baptist. He seen me before they took me for the procedure. And talked to my husband afterwards. I will use him again!! Very satisfied."

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very thorough and knowledgeable!"

5.0 Review from V.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Backstedt, is an amazing doctor. He definitely takes the time to listen and understand his patients and gets down to the bottom of fulfilling all your Gastro healthcare needs. A well trusted Gastro Doctor. Don’t pass him up, he really cares and knows his work. My stomach difficulties got better and I feel better thanks to Dr. Backstedt."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Friendly, explained everything, made you feel he cared."

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"TheyHave been very helpful and taking care of all my needs as a patient especially to call back and talk with me about all tests that have been ran and very well listening to anything I have told them and being very in form mean to me I think Dr. backs that is a very caring doctor and I’m very very thankful that I have him as a docto"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Really takes the time to really learn about you and what you do to get through life with your health issues. He then puts effort into giving you the best care he can."

5.0 Review from N.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I found Dr. Davis Backstedt to be very caring and attentive to my Heath concerns and wasn’t hurried. He kept up with my previous visits and ask a lot of questions as to how I was doing presently."

5.0 Review from R.J. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very thorough and very professional."

5.0 Review from R.D. Source: Google May 25 2022

"He is very caring and he personally calls to check on me after procedures. He has even rearranged his schedule for me to see him sooner than previously scheduled."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I recommend Dr David beckstead to upmost to Public, Understanding considerate physician, He is there for your health give you answers and knowledge of your health needs, I recommend him to anyone, Thank you Sincerely your patient Ms Smith"

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Backstedt has caring way of keeping me at ease while he explained what I need to do. He takes great care of me. I recommend him to anyone needing his services."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great care with Dr Backstedt!"

5.0 Review from D.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Backstedt definitely deserves all 5 stars from me. I've been to his offices now many times between 2 of his different locations and I was impressed at both places. The staff is extremely friendly and professional. The response time is very quick. They do not have you sitting around waiting all day. The offices are neat and clean. The procedures that I had to have done were done beyond my expectations while keeping me completely informed the whole time through. I will continue to go to Dr. Backstedt, and I have already begun to refer people. It is hard to find a doctor this good."

4.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"The office staff and the Dr are all very attentive. They listen well and do their best to diagnosis the problem. I like the facility as well."

5.0 Review from L.W. Source: Google May 25 2021

"The visits I've had with Dr. Backstedt have been very good and he has helped me with my problems and explains to me what should be done to help my situation. I would recommend him to anyone who needs a great Gastroenterologist."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Staff and Doctors have always been attentive and thoughtful. Answering my questions and treating my issues. I appreciate your teams hard work to see that my care is the best available"

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Backstedt is my dad’s GI doctor. He is full of wisdom and works to get to the root of the problem and solve it. If you have questions he personally calls you back with answers. He is very compassionate and cares about the “whole” patient. We are blessed to have him as one of my dad’s doctors. I highly recommend Dr. Backstedt and his whole clinic staff. They are all welcoming and accommodating."

5.0 Review from C.E. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I've been a patient of Dr. Backstedt for 3 years. He is very friendly and informative. He has provided great care for me and I certainly would recommend him to anyone looking for great professional friendly medical care."

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Backstedt and his team are very compassionate and knowledgeable! They always make me feel like I’m their only patient and they take their time explaining everything to me and they are very patient with all of my questions. I highly recommend Dr. Backstedt and his caring team."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"David is very professional and thorough. Excellent Doc! Joe Bell"

5.0 Review from D.I. Source: Google May 25 2021

"The staff is very friendly and very kind! Answered all of my questions quickly and professionally I really love working with the doctor I'm with he's very knowledgeable and very professional! I'd recommend anyone to this facility and the doctors are wonderful and the facility are so friendly. The nurses are very wonderful about answering all your questions professionally I was taking in quickly and seen by the doctor immediately! I recommend this facility to anyone that's looking for a professional gastroenterologist I do everything in their power to take care of all your needs and your questions."

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Backstedt has been very helpful & patient with getting me back to health. He is a compassionate care Giver & am grateful for his expertise"

5.0 Review from J.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr is a great dr he takes time and makes it understand"

5.0 Review from J.E. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Backstedt is a wonderful and caring Doctor. He doesn’t rush in and rush out, he spends time to see how you feel and what is he can do to help."

5.0 Review from K.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Backstedt has been amazing and has provided superb care for my father the past year. We truly appreciate his kindness and professionalism. Highly recommend him! As does my father."

5.0 Review from L.Z. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Backstedt is an amazing Gastroenterologist. Both personable and professional, I couldn’t be blessed with a more compassionate and experienced physician. He actually listens to his patients and doesn’t just “follow a protocol”. He looks at the issue at hand, plans the treatment, and thoroughly discusses the ‘plan of action’. I consider myself truly blessed to have Dr. Backstedt “on my team”!!!"